Skip to content Skip to footer

The Quantum Spaceship

QTSpace has launched a new coordinated action to promote QT in Space aimed at the engagement with stakeholders in Europe. In particular, the initiative has the goal to open a collaborative channel with the relevant departments at the European Commission and European Space Agency.

Quantum Space Network

Distinguished scientists and representatives of industrial actors operating in some of the ESA member countries have agreed to collaborate with QTSpace towards the achievement of the goals of this initiative. The will form the “Quantum Space Network”(QSN), which will have the mandate to liaise with national stakeholders, policy makers, funding bodies, and ESA delegates. QSN will work in synergy with the Quantum Community Network established within the context of the EU Quantum Flagship initiative.

Chair: Angelo Bassi

Deputy Chair: Mauro Paternostro

Country QSN Member – Academia*
Austria Rupert Ursin, IQOQI Vienna
France Philippe Bouyer, Institut d’Optique
Eleni Diamanti, CNRS, Sorbonne University (deputy)
Germany Christoph Marquardt, Max Planck Institute for the science of Light
Ernst Rasel, University of Hannover (deputy)
Greece Wolf von Klitzing, Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser, Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas
Hungary Laszlo Bacsardi, University of Sopron
Italy Angelo Bassi, University of Trieste
Paolo Villoresi, University of Padua (deputy)
Portugal Yasser Omar, Universidade de Lisboa
Manfred Niehus, ISEL – Instituto Politécnico de Lisboa (deputy)
Spain Antonio Acin, The Institute of Photonic Sciences
Valerio Pruneri, The Institute of Photonic Sciences (deputy)
Switzerland Hugo Zbinden, Université de Genève
United Kingdom Mauro Paternostro, Queen’s University Belfast
Hendrik Ulbricht, University of Southampton (deputy)
Company QSN Member – Industry*
Airbus Defence and Space Ltd Paolo Bianco
OHB-System AG Bernhard Sang
Stephan Seidel
Norbert Lemke
Thales Alenia Space Mathias van den Bossche

Quantum Space Advisory Board

Leading European scientists have agreed to be part of an Advisory Board (AB) with the task of providing advice to QSN on strategic initiatives*. 

Prof. Roberto Battiston – University of Trento (IT)
Prof. Wolfgang Ertmer – Leibniz Universität Hannover (DE)
Prof. Elisabeth Giacobino – Sorbonne Université (FR)
Prof. Nicolas Gisin – Université de Genève (CH)
Prof. Sir. Peter Knight – Imperial College London (UK)
Prof. Itzik Ben Israel – Israeli Space Agency, President (IL)

(*as of 4th September 2019)