Skip to content Skip to footer

WG4: Implementations

Christoph Marquardt
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light

Vice Leader:
Vladyslav Usenko
Palacky University


The studies and applications put forward and identified in the other Working Groups are tested in proof-of-principle experiments and finally have to be implemented in real space missions. Implementation in space hardware is a complex process that requires substantial coordination, which WG4 is aiming for. 

The process implies not only the discussion of concrete implementations of ideas that have been recognized in the other Working Groups. From the beginning there is a need to identify common challenges regarding technology needs and building up a network of available infrastructure both on the technical and on the management level. Already early in the design process one has to identify mission parameters and mission designs. 

The technology development that is required has to be performed in international collaboration between academia, national research institutes, space agencies and industrial partners. Hardware testing in space relevant environment (vibrations, radiation hardness, vacuum and temperature parameters) is costly and complex. Sharing experience and coordinating efforts thus is crucial. 

We will also focus on identifying funding opportunities and communicate with space agencies. Space implementations heavily rely on international collaboration. We will further broaden the support by international researchers and their respective national space agencies beyond the European level. Finally it will be important to determine and coordinate technology-development and mission-proposal opportunities. Here we will communicate with industry and space agencies and identify synergetic effects. 

QTSpace enables the unique opportunity to find out common technological platforms and methods that can be developed jointly for the different scientific fields ranging from optical quantum communication to cold-atom interferometry, optomechanics or optical atomic clocks. Joint development and implementation technologies will reduce cost and make missions feasible by combining technology in a single payload. Towards these goals the working group is organizing meetings, workshops and training schools. 


WG4 Members

Aidan Arnold University of Strathclyde
Marco Avesani Universita’ degli studi di Padova
Peter Barker University College London
Angelo Bassi University of Trieste
James Bateman Swansea University
Ömer Bayraktar Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
Erik Beckert Fraunhofer IOF
Robert Bedington Centre for Quantum Technologies
Paolo Bianco AIRBUS
Cristian Bonato Heriot-Watt University
Jean-Philippe Bourgoin University of Waterloo
Félix Bussières University of Geneva – ID Quantique
Olivier Carraz RHEA for ESA
Catalina Oana Curceanu LNF-INFN
Daniele Dequal Agenzia Spaziale Italiana
Eleni Diamanti CNRS, Sorbonne Université
Aline Dinkelaker Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Bob Dirks TNO
Pedro Duque Lusospace Lda
Kadir Durak Oezyeğin University
Omid Faizy Namarvar LPT-IRSAMC & CEMES-CNRS
Stefan Filipp IBM Research – Zurich
Matthias Fink IQOQI Vienna
Naceur Gaaloul Institute of Quantum Optics / Leibniz University of Hanover
Dinaol Gadisa Ethiopian space science and technology institute and African Aeronautics and Astronautics Center
Santanu Ganguly Cisco Systems, Liverpool John Moores University
Barry Garraway University of Sussex
Domenico Gerardi AIRBUS
Paul Griffin University of Strathclyde
Jens Grosse University Bremen & DLR Bremen
Jai Grover ESA
S. Deniz Han İstanbul University
Heleri Ramler Heleri Ramler RAL Space
PAULO HENRIQUE Aarhus University
Waldemar Herr University of Hannover
Ronald Holzwarth Menlo Systems GmbH
Radu Ionicioiu Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (IFIN-HH)
Rainer Kaltenbaek University of Ljubljana
Andrej Krzic ESA
Jean Lautier-Gaud Muquans
Bruno Leone European Space Agency
Matthias Lettner OHB
Ying Lia Li University College London
Vadim Makarov University of Waterloo
Jean Pierre Marburger JGU Mainz
Marco Mariola University of KwaZulu-Natal
Christoph Marquardt Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
Luca Mazzarella University of Strathclyde
Florian Moll German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Gavin Morley University of Warwick
Manfred Niehus Instituto Telecomunicações & Lisbon Polytechnical School of Engineering
Daniel Oi University of Strathclyde
Fatih Ozkaynak Firat University
Christoph Pacher Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
Sungdong Park Satrec Initiative
Emanuele Pelucchi Tyndall National Institute
Bruno Pierobon RAL Space
Simon Pigeon Direction Générale de l’Armement
Heike Poignand SES Satelites
Christopher Pugh University of Waterloo
John Rarity University of Bristol
Mohsen Razavi University of Leeds
Stefan Riedl Airbus Defence and Space GmbH
Dondu Sahin University of Bristol
Bernhard Sang OHB System AG
Matteo Schiavon University of Padova
Stephan Seidel Leibniz Universität Hannover
Rui Semide Lusospace Lda
Niccolo Somaschi Quandela
Joe Spencer IoniQ
Mario Stipčević Ruđer Bošković Institute
Boris Stoyanov BRANE HEPLAB
Guglielmo M. Tino Università di Firenze, LENS, INFN
Vladyslav Usenko Palacky University in Olomouc
Tristan Valenzuela-Salazar STFC
Giuseppe Vallone University of Padova
Mathias Van Den Bossche Thales Alenia Space
Francesco Vedovato University of Padova
Paolo Villoresi University of Padova INF-CNR
Wolf von Klitzing IESL-FORTH
Harald Weinfurter University of Munich
André Wenzlawski Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Yao Zhou IQOQI
Zoltán Zimborás Wigner Research Centre for Physics
אסף אבנון Bar Ilan