Skip to content Skip to footer

WG3: Proof-of-principle experiments

Hendrik Ulbricht
University of Southampton

Vice Leader:
Philippe Bouyer
Institut d’Optique d’Aquitaine


There are three major experimental platforms at the moment: photons, cold atoms for matter-wave interferometry and atomic clocks, and levitated nanoparticles/optomechanics provide different opportunities for quantum technologies in space, while the technological readiness level (TRL) is one of the main credentials in order to qualify for a space mission at all. The TRL is very different for the different experimental platforms.

It is imperative for space that each quantum technology has passed relevant proof-of-principle experimental tests on ground. Within this Action, and specifically WG3, we aim to coordinate such experimental activities to optimise and accelerate the TRL of each platform, and thus pave the way to the specific orbit requirements to perform the desired experiments in space.

This could imply joining forces to work towards the demonstration of a matter-wave interferometer for nanoparticles on Earth – a later version of which should see full fruition if operated in space. WG3 will also coordinate the sharing of knowledge with respect to available technologies and experimental techniques for performing experiments in space-relevant settings. This will allow us to answer the question “What is the best technical solution to realise the experiment in space?”

Further we will be working to identify the option of joint missions with different technological platforms on the same spacecraft. 

Ideally WG3 will entail a joint approach between scientists and engineers at universities and space industries as well as at national and international space agencies. 


WG3 Members

Quinten Akkerman Italian Institute of Technology (IIT)
Aidan Arnold University of Strathclyde
Marco Avesani Universita’ degli studi di Padova
Peter Barker University College London
Angelo Bassi University of Trieste
James Bateman Swansea University
Baptiste Battelier Institut d’Optique d’Aquitaine
Robert Bedington Centre for Quantum Technologies
Philippe Bouyer Institut d’Optique d’Aquitaine
David Edward Bruschi Universität des Saarlandes
Dmitry Bykov University of Innsbruck
Humeyra Caglayan Bilkent University
Humeyra Caglayan Tampere University of Technology
Olivier Carraz RHEA for ESA
Catalina Oana Curceanu LNF-INFN
Mihai Datcu DLR
Chris Dawson University of Swansea
Daniele Dequal Agenzia Spaziale Italiana
Eleni Diamanti CNRS, Sorbonne Université
Francisco Diaz-Otero University of Vigo
Lajos Diosi Wigner Research Centre for Physics
Bob Dirks TNO
Pedro Duque Lusospace Lda
Kadir Durak Oezyeğin University
Omid Faizy Namarvar LPT-IRSAMC & CEMES-CNRS
Stefan Filipp IBM Research – Zurich
Matthias Fink IQOQI Vienna
Jaromir Fiurasek Palacky University Olomouc
Martin Frimmer ETH Zürich
Naceur Gaaloul Institute of Quantum Optics / Leibniz University of Hanover
Dinaol Gadisa Ethiopian space science and technology institute and African Aeronautics and Astronautics Center
Santanu Ganguly Cisco Systems, Liverpool John Moores University
Barry Garraway University of Sussex
Giulio Gasbarri University of Trieste
Remi Geiger SYRTE, Paris Observatory
Nicolas Gisin University of Geneva
Daniel Granados Fundacion IMDEA Nanociencia
Paul Griffin University of Strathclyde
Mircea Guina Tampere University of Technology
Mustafa Gündogan Humboldt University Berlin
S. Deniz Han İstanbul University
Sriram Hariharan Ferdinand-Braun-Institute, Leibniz-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik
Antoine Heidmann ENS and University Pierre and Marie Curie
Heleri Ramler Heleri Ramler RAL Space
PAULO HENRIQUE Aarhus University
Waldemar Herr University of Hannover
Ronald Holzwarth Menlo Systems GmbH
Radu Ionicioiu Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (IFIN-HH)
Markku Jääskeläinen Mälardalen University
Rainer Kaltenbaek University of Ljubljana
Simon Kanthak Humboldt University Berlin
Jean Lautier-Gaud Muquans
Bruno Leone European Space Agency
Ying Lia Li University College London
Sabrina Maniscalco University of Turku
Jean Pierre Marburger JGU Mainz
Luca Mazzarella University of Strathclyde
James Millen King’s College London
Gavin Morley University of Warwick
Sebastian Philipp Neumann IQOQI
Raffaele Nolli University of Birmingham
Daniel Oi University of Strathclyde
Yasser Omar Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon
Tjerk Oosterkamp Leiden University
Sorin Paraoanu Aalto University
Emanuele Pelucchi Tyndall National Institute
Achim Peters Humboldt Universität zu Berlin
Simon Pigeon Direction Générale de l’Armement
Christopher Pugh University of Waterloo
Anishur Rahman UCL
Andrey Rakhubovskiy Palacky University
John Rarity University of Bristol
Muddassar Rashid University of Southampton
Mohsen Razavi University of Leeds
Stefan Riedl Airbus Defence and Space GmbH
Erling Riis Strathclyde University
Hannes Rotzinger Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Albert Roura Institute of Quantum Technologies, German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Dondu Sahin University of Bristol
Bernhard Sang OHB System AG
Matteo Schiavon University of Padova
Stephan Seidel Leibniz Universität Hannover
Rui Semide Lusospace Lda
André Stefanov University of Bern
Boris Stoyanov BRANE HEPLAB
Guglielmo M. Tino Università di Firenze, LENS, INFN
Geza Toth Wigner Research Centre for Physics
Marius Trușculescu Institute of Space Science
Hendrik Ulbricht University of Southampton
Mathias Van Den Bossche Thales Alenia Space
Francesco Vedovato University of Padova
Paolo Villoresi University of Padova INF-CNR
Andrea Vinante University of Southampton
David Vitali University of Camerino
Wolf von Klitzing IESL-FORTH
Harald Weinfurter University of Munich
André Wenzlawski Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
George Winstone University of Southampton
Lisa Woerner ZARM / University Bremen
Hugo Zbinden GAP Quantum Technologies. University of Geneva
Yao Zhou IQOQI
אסף אבנון Bar Ilan